Criticism Hurts But It’s Worth It

Posted: June 17, 2011 by kylejackson10 in CHRISTIAN, CRAZY LOVE, FCA LEE COUNTY, Leadership, Uncategorized, YOUNG ADULTS

One of the biggest things I have learned about being a leader is you WILL be criticized. Being criticized hurts but it is worth it! John Maxwell says, “When you get kicked in the rear, you know you are out front.”

Not everyone handles criticism the same. Some try to ignore it. Some try to defend themselves against it. Others, make witty and sarcastic remarks to put a critic in his place. The truth is, if you are a leader you WILL get criticized.

There are three things I have learned to use as a filter when being criticized:

1.) Who criticized me?– If it is coming from someone close to you or someone you admire or look up to then the criticism is worth looking into.

2.) How was the criticism given?- I try to give everyone the benefit of the doubt. You have to determine if the person was being judgmental or do they have real concern.

3.) Why was the criticism given?- Was it given out of personal hurt or for my benefit? When people are feeling hurt by you they will lash out and criticize you. Hurting people want to hurt other people.

Once I have used those filters during a moment of criticism I then work through what I was being criticized about. I try not to be defensive. I look for the grain of truth in the criticism. Then, I make changes if I need to.

I have learned that secure leaders never need to defend themselves. Even when the person who is criticizing is so far off from the truth. If you worry about what other people think about you it’s because you have more confidence in their opinion than you have in your own.

As I have learned this principle of “When you are getting kicked in the rear, you know you are out front” I think back to all the criticism I took early on as a leader. I use to respond to it with anger or sarcastic remarks. Now, I filter through the three things you read above. It is much easier to sleep at night when you filter through those principles.

When you are a leader you WILL be criticized! Know that it is worth it!

– Kyle

@KyleJackson1

Comments
  1. Ruben Loor says:

    Great stuff bro! Keep them coming!

  2. Kyle Dunn says:

    i like the ideas of the three filters of criticism. these filters are effective tools for any leader….young or seasoned.

Leave a Reply

